DivorceWriter logo
Home About Us
Woman Computer

Utah Divorce Self-Help Center

Many customer Utah divorce questions are answered here.  Browse from the topics below or use the search box to narrow your search.
Search Categories (check the categories to include in your search)
General Information State Procedures   Custody, Visitation, Support
  Property and Debts   Special Circumstances Additional Resources
Neither my spouse nor I are in the Military. Do we still need to complete the Military Service Declaration, Military Service Order, and the Respondent's Affidavit of Military Status? 3822
Yes. Utah courts require proof of whether or not the parties are in the Military. Follow the instructions exactly as given in the Procedures to make sure the documents are completed properly.
Can I change my name in Utah divorce proceedings? 3256
Yes, the Wife may request in the Complaint for Divorce that a former name be restored.
What is considered to be the date of separation in Utah? 3244
The term "separation date" refers to the date when the spouses stopped living at the same residence.
What are the Utah residency requirements for filing for divorce? 3246

A person seeking a divorce in Utah may file for divorce if one or more of the following residency requirements is met:
  • The plaintiff/petitioner or defendant/respondent must have resided in the Utah county in which the divorce is being filed for 3 months prior to filing for divorce; OR
  • If there are minor children, plaintiff/petitioner and/or defendant/respondent must have resided with the child(ren) in Utah for 6 months prior to filing for divorce.
How do I serve my spouse with the divorce papers in Utah? 3254
Formal service is not required in a divorce in Utah when both parties agree to all terms of the divorce. The defendant/respondent signs the Acceptance of Service and Waiver in front of a Notary Public, which is then filed with the Court.
Will either of us be required to attend a court hearing? 3242
In most cases in Utah, a hearing is not required when minor children are not involved. However, if the judge decides to hold a hearing, typically only the petitioner will need to attend.
What are the basic steps to getting a divorce in Utah? 3250
The basic steps for filing for a divorce in Utah are as follows:
  1. Plaintiff/Petitioner reviews, signs, and files the initial divorce documents.
  2. Plaintiff/Petitioner serves his/her spouse with the divorce documents and provides him/her with the documents he/she needs to complete and file.
  3. Plaintiff/Petitioner files the remaining documents.
  4. Both parties wait the required 90 days. If no hearing is required, a judge completes the divorce by signing the Decree of Divorce. If a hearing is required (when minor children are involved), both parties (or at least the Plaintiff) will attend the hearing, and the judge will sign the Decree of Divorce.
What documents are included in the self-prepared Utah DivorceWriter package? 3252
The following documents are included in the no-children Utah DivorceWriter package:
  • Cover Sheet for Civil Actions
  • Certificate of Divorce
  • Verified Petition
  • Stipulation
  • Notice of URCP 26.1 Disclosure and Discovery Requirements in Domestic Relations Actions
  • Affidavit of Jurisdiction and Grounds for Divorce
  • Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law
  • Decree of Divorce and Judgment

If you select a Utah divorce with minor children, you are selecting the the additional forms:
  • Notice of Divorce Education Requirements
  • Child Support Worksheet(s)
  • Affidavit of Income Verification

Note: You may receive additional documents depending on your answers to our online interview. In the same regard, you may not receive some of the documents in the above list, depending on your answers to our online interview.
How long does it usually take to finalize a divorce in Utah? 3253
A divorce cannot be finalized in Utah before thirty (30) days have passed from the date the Complaint for Divorce was filed.
Do we have to be separated to get a divorce in Utah? 3255
No. There is no separation requirement in Utah.
Where do I file my divorce papers in Utah? 3240
Divorce papers in Utah are filed with the Clerk of the District Court in the county where either spouse resides.
What are the grounds for filing for divorce in Utah? 3247
The no-fault ground for divorce in Utah is irreconcilable differences of the marriage.
Utah Code § 30-3-1.
Does Utah require divorcing spouses and/or their child(ren) to attend a class or seminar on coping with divorce? 3258
Yes, xxstatname* requires both parties to attend a mandatory divorce orientation course and a divorce education course.
Utah Code §30-3-11.3.
How much is the filing fee in Utah? 3251
The filing fee varies between counties in Utah, but the typical filing fee varies between $318.00 and $360.00.
Ready to Begin now?
What are the different types of custody in Utah? 3248
The different types of custody in Utah are:

Joint Legal Custody-both parents make joint decisions about major issues affecting the children. Joint legal custody does not affect the children's physical residence.

Joint Physical Custody-the parties share physical time with the children, who live in both homes.

Sole Legal Custody- one parent has the sole right and responsibility to make major decisions regarding the child's welfare including matters of education, medical care and emotional, moral and religious development.

Sole Physical Custody- the child(ren) reside with and are under the supervision of one parent, commonly subject to reasonable visitation by the other parent.
When can a child support order be modified in Utah? 3249
A child support order can be modified by motion in Utah if it has been three (3) or more years since the order was entered and: 1) there is a difference of 10% or more between the support amount as ordered and the support amount as required under the guidelines; and 2) the difference is not temporary; and 3) the proposed child support amount is consistent with the guidelines. Utah Code §78B-12-210(8).
How is child support calculated in Utah? 3241
Child support in Utah is calculated by using a formula established by the Utah State Legislature. Things that are considered in determining the amount of child support payments include: each parent's income, the child's needs, the number of children needing support and other factors.
What if my spouse and I have agreed to use a child support amount that is different from the standard amount set by the Child Support Guidelines? 3243
DivorceWriter shows the child support calculation under the Utah child support guidelines.
The customer chooses whether to use the guideline calculation or to deviate from that calculation by entering a different child support amount. If the amount is a deviation from the basic support obligation, the customer will explain the reasons for the deviation in the Petition for Dissolution of Marriage. The court will decide whether or not to approve the deviation.
We already have a child support order issued by a judge. Will we be able to keep the same amount? 3257
DivorceWriter provides the option to enter information regarding an existing child support order including the amount of support ordered and other identifying case information. Generally, you will also be expected to staple one copy of the prior child support order to each copy of the Petition for Dissolution of Marriage you will file with the Court.
Ready to Begin now?
Why do I have to complete financial disclosures in an uncontested divorce? 3877
More than half of the states require one or both spouses to complete a document listing th... more
Ready to Begin now?
© 2023 Pro Se Planning, Inc. All rights reserved. Terms of Use | 100% Guarantee | Privacy | Help Center - Contact | Sitemap
DivorceWriter.com™ is the leading self-help divorce document web site.
However, this site does not provide legal advice and use of this site is
not a substitute for hiring an attorney licensed to practice in your state.