Utah allows you to complete your divorce without an attorney if you and your spouse can come to an agreement on what to do with your property and how you will care for any children that you have.
Utah Residency Requirements
A person seeking a divorce in Utah may file for divorce if one or more of the following residency requirements is met:
- You or your spouse must have resided in the Utah county in which the divorce is being filed for 3 months prior to filing for divorce;
- If there are minor children, either you or your spouse must have resided in Utah with the children for 6 months prior to filing for divorce.
Grounds For Divorce
The no-fault ground for divorce in Utah is irreconcilable differences.
Filing Your Utah Divorce
The basic steps for filing for a divorce in Utah are as follows:
- You review, sign, and file the initial divorce documents.
- You serve your spouse with the divorce documents and provide him/her with the documents he/she needs to complete and file.
- File the remaining documents.
- Wait the required 90 days. If no hearing is required, a judge completes your divorce by signing your Decree of Divorce. If a hearing is required in your county, both parties will attend the hearing, and the judge will sign the Decree of Divorce.
Division of property & debt, child parenting plan (including child support, visitation and custody), spousal support, and more are covered.
DivorceWriter provides forms specific to the state of Utah and offers a money back guarantee if your documents are not accepted by the Court.
If you select a Utah divorce, you are selecting the following forms:
- Civil Cover Sheet
- Certificate of Divorce
- Non Public Information Sheet
- Military Service Declaration
- Order Regarding Respondent's Military Service
- Verified Petition
- Acceptance of Service, Appearance, Consent and Waiver
- Respondent's Affidavit of Military Service
- Motion for Entry of Default Certificate
- Default Certificate
- Affidavit of Jurisdiction and Grounds
- Request to Submit for Entry of Decree of Divorce
- Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law
- Decree of Divorce
If you select a Utah divorce with minor children, you are selecting the the additional forms:
- Notice of Divorce Education Requirements
- Child Support Worksheet(s)
- Affidavit of Income Verification